A CSV converter for Charles Schwab

Hello all,

I have written a Python program that converts a Charles Schwab transaction CSV file to a ready-to-import CSV file for Portfolio Performance.

Also included is a complete step-by-step guide (with screenshots) for creating a new portfolio file in PP and importing a converted example CSV. As far as I can test, PP will detect and skip duplicate transactions. So it is safe to import overlapping transactions in the future.

If you try it, please share your feedbacks!

On GitHub: https://github.com/rlan/convert-csv-schwab2pp

Regards,

Hallo @rlan
I think you should add the currencies of the amounts.

Alex

Hello Alex,
Good idea, thanks! Will try.

Hey @rlan,
so glad that you are working on this!
I am a complete python noob so maybe I did something wrong but I end up with these errors…

File "/Users/xxx/Documents/PPSchwabConverter/convert.py", line 33, in <module>
    df['Date'] = pd.to_datetime(df['Date'], format='%m/%d/%Y')                 
                 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/pandas/core/tools/datetimes.py", line 1064, in to_datetime
    cache_array = _maybe_cache(arg, format, cache, convert_listlike)
                  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/pandas/core/tools/datetimes.py", line 229, in _maybe_cache
    cache_dates = convert_listlike(unique_dates, format)
                  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/pandas/core/tools/datetimes.py", line 430, in _convert_listlike_datetimes
    res = _to_datetime_with_format(
          ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/pandas/core/tools/datetimes.py", line 538, in _to_datetime_with_format