IRR calculation and taxes

Hello to all,
I have been using this product for a few months and over time I realize more and more how great it is.
I have a little problem though …

Since I couldn’t get my IRR calculations back, in order to understand something, I created a very simple test movements with invented values, which I report below.

I realized that in the calculation of the IRR made by PP, taxes are not included.
In fact, with the data of the example below, PP reports a value of 7.17%, while if we also consider the taxes it should be 6.92%.

Am I getting something wrong?
In PP, is it possible to have an IRR for each security that also considers the taxes paid?
I tried to search into the forum but couldn’t find an answer…

A thousand thanks

1 Like

Yes, separate tax transactions are currently being ignored:

Not sure about the reason for that. Probably just that taxes can be somewhat random and don’t say much about the performance of the security.

3 Likes

The problem for me is that I have investment products with different tax regimes and I use IRR post taxes to better compare them. So I’ll continue to use my laborious excel file.

However, it is a real shame that PP, among the many things it does, is not able to provide this parameter as well.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

1 Like

After-tax returns are what the investor can eat. Ignoring taxes is good for theoretical benchmarking vs investments with the same tax regime. But basing definite decision on after-tax returns is best practice.

A large problem to correctly calculate after-tax returns are deferred taxes. E.g. how do you handle future taxes on unrealized gains? This requires individual judgements about future holding periods /tax rates and returns. I fear some part of my holdings already belong to the taxman. PP at least generates a higher number to make me smile :grinning: