Market value is much higher than expected

Hi,

Any idea what’s going on here:

From these transactions entered:

…for some reason I’m getting a market value much greater than expected:

It seems to me as if somehow the quote looked up is some multiple / order of magnitude different than the price ‘quote’ per unit in the purchase transaction.

I’m completely new to this software - where / how can I correct / align the correct unit prices?

Thanks for your help

Very much possible, but since you withhold all relevant information (such as the currencies involved), noone will be able to tell.

think about GBP / GBX

@chirlu Thanks for your reply.

Not “withholding”, but didn’t realise currency has anything do with it. Like I said, I’m new to this. The transaction currencies are GBP.

@ProgFriese

think about GBP / GBX

I don’t know what you mean

Change units from pounds to pence for example

You should divide by 100 to convert from pence to pounds

Thanks, I understood GBP / GBX, but not how/where to adjust this in the PP software. If I add manually or imported transactions from CSV or PDF then PP [correctly?] shows the price per unit as regular GBP with decimal:

Are you suggesting I’m supposed to assume the quotes lookup source (e.g. Yahoo Finance) is going to report in GBX and then I should manually adjust the transactions, dividing by 100 each time?

I can’t see anywhere when I add the quote provider to the Security:

What am I missing?

OK, but where/ how / at what stage in the workflow?

Currency is under “Security Master Data”

These are all GBP (which I believe I can’t edit once a trade has been recorded - is that correct?)

Yes, you have to delete the transactions, change the currency …

Take a look at How to use the CSV Import functions for GBX priced securities? - Portfolio Performance Manual (portfolio-performance.info) from the manual.

1 Like

I did look but didn’t find it until you posted here: