Tracking Real Estate Performance

Hi all, I am new to this software but I really like the flexibility so far. I am looking into the CSV import for now to import * a lot * of transactions as I’d like to backdate my trades to get a good overview and test the software more.

I really like that it seems I could really get a full picture of my entire net worth, including everything that could be considered an investment.

I have one question about tracking a real estate (a house) with this. I’m not sure I understand how that can be done yet, given the mortgage debt associated, interests paid, etc. Anybody doing that? how would you approach it?

Thanks!

I’m not related to real estate but my first reaction would be to treat the RE just as a stock.

Create a new Stock called „Realestate X“. Now you can start tracking its value, fees and income.
Put in what the house/condo/appartment was valued (underling’s asset value like stock price), add what you payed (well what you paid for it), add fees (interest + repayment, since I don’t see a way to split it up with Portfolio Performance) and if you rent it out you can add all the rent as dividend payed.

Of course if you have any idea of how the underling asset is developing you can add new data, too.

Hope it helps!

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback. This is a good idea. I’ll test it out.

Hi, I am interested to see if you achieved any good approach for tracking real estate. I’ve tried a few things, unsuccessful for now.

What I would like to achieve is the following:

• Add the purchase date and price of the property, i.e. November 2016 and EUR 500.000,-
  • The property was improved and valued at EUR 525.000,- at February 2017
  • In between there have been a few more valuations, which I would like to track
  • There is a source and formula to estimate market value, which would be nice to use for quarterly data points (either manually or automatic).